Bill Belsey backs Mike de Jong as First Choice for BC Liberal Leader

BURNABY – Retired MLA Bill Belsey announced today that Mike de Jong his first choice to be the new leader of the BC Liberals.

“We need a leader who is ready, on the first day, to start the hard work taking the fight to the NDP, to start renewing our party, and to start winning back support from the people of the province. Mike is that leader.” Belsey said. “Mike de Jong’s track record and his experience make it clear he’s the first choice to lead our party,”

Belsey was the MLA representing North Coast from 2001 to 2005. He served as chair of the Finance and Government Services committee, as well as serving on Public Accounts, the committee on Parliamentary Reform, Ethical Conduct, Standing Orders and Private Bills, the Special Committee to Review the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, and the Legislative Select Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs. He is also a former Vice-President of the BC Liberal Party.

“Mike understands what drives the life and the economy of rural BC – and how critical it is to our entire province,” Belsey said. “Mike is also the best candidate to lead our party in the fight against the NDP-Green plan to change our voting system with representation by population that will overwhelm the voice of rural British Columbians.”

Mike has pledged strong leadership that will fight against “representation by population” as this will be the demise of rural BC.,” Belsey said. “Mike is the first choice to keep our coalition together and to build on our proud legacy as a free-enterprise party. 

Mike de Jong now has many MLAs, former MLAs, MPs, and community leaders supporting him from around the province (see list below).

The BC Liberal party will hold a leadership convention to announce the new leader on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2018.


Media Contact:

Tamara Little

604.767.0207 cell

[email protected]


Team de Jong members

Bill Barisoff (Former MLA Penticton (Southern Okanagan) former Cabinet Minister, and former Speaker of the B.C. Legislature)

Pat Bell (Former MLA Prince George-Mackenzie and former Cabinet Minister)

Bill Belsey (Former MLA North Coast, former BC Liberal Party Vice President)

Mike Bernier (MLA Peace River South and former Cabinet Minister)

Stephanie Cadieux (MLA Surrey South and former Cabinet Minister)

Ron Cantelon (Former MLA Nanaimo-Parksville and former Cabinet Minister)

Rich Coleman (MLA Langley East, Former Deputy Premier and Cabinet Minister, Leader of the Official Opposition)

Dan Davies (MLA Peace River North)

Ed Fast (Member of Parliament, Abbotsford and former Federal Cabinet Minister of International Trade)

Simon Gibson (MLA Abbotsford-Mission)

Wanda Good (2017 BC Liberal Candidate, Stikine and former Gitanyow deputy chief councillor)

Al Horning (Former MLA Kelowna-Lake Country, former MP Okanagan Centre)

John Martin (MLA Chilliwack)

Rob Nijjar (Former MLA Vancouver-Kingsway)

Patty Sahota (Former MLA Burnaby-Edmonds and former Cabinet Minister)

Dallas Smith (2017 BC Liberal Candidate, North Island, and president of the Nanwakolas Council)

Bill Streeper (Mayor Fort Nelson)

Dr. Moira Stilwell (Former MLA Vancouver-Langara and former Cabinet Minister)

Teresa Wat (MLA Richmond North Centre and former Cabinet Minister)

Jack Weisgerber (Former MLA Peace River South – and former Socred Cabinet Minister and Reform BC Leader)