Dr. Moira Stilwell is Making Mike de Jong her First Choice

BURNABY – Dr. Moira Stilwell, the former Vancouver-Langara MLA and cabinet minister, announced today that she is making Mike de Jong her first choice to be the new leader of the BC Liberals.

“Our next leader needs to be ready on the first day to begin the hard work of renewing the party; he is a tough, able and competent leader. Mike de Jong is my first choice because has the experience to lead BC Liberals forward,” Stilwell said. 

Dr. Stillwell was MLA for Vancouver-Langara from 2009 to 2017, and served in cabinet as Minister of Advanced Education and Labour Market Development under Premier Gordon Campbell, as well as Minister of Social Development under Premier Christy Clark. She is a highly respected radiologist, nuclear medicine physician, and health care administrator. She has served as Head of Nuclear Medicine at St. Paul’s Hospital, Surrey Memorial Hospital, and Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Clinic.

“Mike and I have had many discussions on health care, and he understands the need for change in the current health care system, and will take up the challenge of innovation in this regard,” Stilwell said. “I enjoyed working with Mike during my time in public office, and was impressed by his interest in innovation and trade. I was honoured to work on two trade missions to Israel with him, strengthening partnerships between B.C.’s technology and life sciences sectors and those in Israel.”

Mike de Jong now has many MLAs, former MLAs, MPs, and community leaders supporting him from around the province (see list below).

The BC Liberal party will hold a leadership convention to announce the new leader on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2018.


Media Contact:

Tamara Little

604.767.0207 cell

[email protected]



Team de Jong members

Bill Barisoff (Former MLA Penticton (Southern Okanagan) former Cabinet Minister, and former Speaker of the B.C. Legislature)

Pat Bell (Former MLA Prince George-Mackenzie and former Cabinet Minister)

Mike Bernier (MLA Peace River South and former Cabinet Minister)

Stephanie Cadieux (MLA Surrey South and former Cabinet Minister)

Ron Cantelon (Former MLA Nanaimo-Parksville and former Cabinet Minister)

Rich Coleman (MLA Langley East, Former Deputy Premier and Cabinet Minister, Leader of the Official Opposition)

Dan Davies (MLA Peace River North)

Ed Fast (Member of Parliament, Abbotsford and former Federal Cabinet Minister of International Trade)

Simon Gibson (MLA Abbotsford-Mission)

Wanda Good (2017 BC Liberal Candidate, Stikine and former Gitanyow deputy chief councillor)

Al Horning (Former MLA Kelowna-Lake Country, former MP Okanagan Centre)

John Martin (MLA Chilliwack)

Rob Nijjar (Former MLA Vancouver-Kingsway)

Patty Sahota (Former MLA Burnaby-Edmonds and former Cabinet Minister)

Dallas Smith (2017 BC Liberal Candidate, North Island, and president of the Nanwakolas Council)

Bill Streeper (Mayor Fort Nelson)

Dr. Moira Stilwell (Former MLA Vancouver-Langara and former Cabinet Minister)

Teresa Wat (MLA Richmond North Centre and former Cabinet Minister)  

Jack Weisgerber (Former MLA Peace River South – and former Socred Cabinet Minister and Reform BC Leader)