Former MLA Arnie Hamilton makes Mike de Jong his First Choice

BURNABY – Arnie Hamilton, the former Esquimalt-Metchosin MLA, announced today he is supporting Mike de Jong as his first choice to be the next leader of the BC Liberals.

“Mike de Jong is the leader the BC Liberals need right now. He’s ready to take the fight to the NDP. He has a plan to renew our party and start winning back the support of British Columbians,” Hamilton said. “Mike’s my first choice because he has the vision to take us back to government and to build a better province for all British Columbians.”

Hamilton served as Esquimalt-Metchosin MLA from 2001-2005 after a 31-year career as an Esquimalt police officer. For 20 of his years on the force he was President of the Esquimalt Police Union.

“Mike is the kind of leader our party needs – when he makes a commitment, he delivers,” Hamilton said. “That is the kind of leadership that will win back support for our party here on the Island and across the province.”

Mike de Jong now has many MLAs, former MLAs, MPs, and community leaders supporting him from around the province (see list below).

The BC Liberal party will hold a leadership convention to announce the new leader on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2018.


Media Contact:

Tamara Little

604.767.0207 cell

[email protected] 


Team de Jong members

Bill Barisoff (Former MLA Penticton (Southern Okanagan) former Cabinet Minister, and former Speaker of the B.C. Legislature)

Pat Bell (Former MLA Prince George-Mackenzie and former Cabinet Minister)

Bill Belsey (Former MLA North Coast, former BC Liberal Party Vice President)

Mike Bernier (MLA Peace River South and former Cabinet Minister)

Anneke Bruce (long-time BC Liberal volunteer)

Graham Bruce (Former MLA Cowichan-Ladysmith and former Cabinet Minister)

Stephanie Cadieux (MLA Surrey South and former Cabinet Minister)

Ron Cantelon (Former MLA Nanaimo-Parksville and former Cabinet Minister)

Rich Coleman (MLA Langley East, Former Deputy Premier and Cabinet Minister, Leader of the Official Opposition)

Dan Davies (MLA Peace River North)

Ed Fast (Member of Parliament, Abbotsford and former Federal Cabinet Minister of International Trade)

Simon Gibson (MLA Abbotsford-Mission)

Wanda Good (2017 BC Liberal Candidate, Stikine and former Gitanyow deputy chief councillor) 

Arnie Hamilton (Former MLA Esquimalt-Metchosin)

Al Horning (Former MLA Kelowna-Lake Country, former MP Okanagan Centre)

John Martin (MLA Chilliwack)

Rob Nijjar (Former MLA Vancouver-Kingsway)

Patty Sahota (Former MLA Burnaby-Edmonds and former Cabinet Minister)

Dallas Smith (2017 BC Liberal Candidate, North Island, and former president of the Nanwakolas Council)

Bill Streeper (Mayor Fort Nelson)

Dr. Moira Stilwell (Former MLA Vancouver-Langara and former Cabinet Minister)

Teresa Wat (MLA Richmond North Centre and former Cabinet Minister)

Jack Weisgerber (Former MLA Peace River South – and former Socred Cabinet Minister and Reform BC Leader)